Researchers John Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Chemistry today for the advancement of lithium-particle batteries, a significant innovation in empowering the world to move away from petroleum products.

American Goodenough, at 97, turns into the most established champ of a Nobel prize. He shared the honor similarly with Whittingham from Britain and Yoshino of Japan.

“This battery-powered battery established the framework of remote gadgets, for example, cell phones and PCs,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in an announcement on granting the 9 million Swedish crown ($906,000) prize.

“It likewise makes a petroleum product free world conceivable, as it is utilized for everything from controlling electric vehicles to putting away vitality from inexhaustible sources.”

Whittingham built up the principal utilitarian lithium battery in the mid 1970s. Goodenough multiplied the battery’s potential in the next decade and Yoshino disposed of unadulterated lithium from the battery, making it a lot more secure to utilize.